All Categories

Industry News

Home > News > Industry News


Time : 2023-09-09 Hits : 84


You might have noticed that this product adheres to EN standard EN 388. EN standards ensure that the product you are buying meets the safety standards of the European Committee for Standardization (CEN), the highest standards organisation recognised by and working on behalf of the European Union. To pass any EN standard, a PPE product must undergo some of the most rigorous safety tests around.

· EN 388 is the European equivalent of ANSI/ISEA 105

· It tests resistance to abrasion, cut, tear, puncture and impact protection gloves

· Level 4 is the maximum rating available for abrasion, tear and puncture resistance

· Cut resistance is measured up to Level 5 or Level F

· Ratings go from low to high, with a lower number (or letter) being a lesser level of protection

· If a glove is marked as "N/A" it means that they haven't been tested against a give threat



As previously mentioned, EN 388 is the certification awarded to a pair of work gloves when a specific set of mechanical hazard tests have been undertaken and passed. It ranks a gloves performance based on its success in these five different tests, giving the gloves a final score that allow the end user to be able to purchase the correct pair of gloves for their chosen risk.

We've listed each of the six different hazard tests below.

1. Abrasion resistance

2. Cut resistance

3. Tear resistance

4. Puncture resistance 

5. ISO cut resistance

6. Impactresistance


If you're wondering what those strange numbers on your gloves mean, you're not alone.

These number show the score that your gloves have been given for each of the hazards tested. You can identify an EN 388 rated glove by viewing the below symbol on the back of the gloves, in the packaging or in the conformity statement.


This is an example of an EN 388 rating you may find on a glove

To make things clearer on our website, we tabulate this information so that you can find specifically which threats your gloves protect against. See below for a translation of the above example to our style of explanation.


Resistance Rating

Abrasion Resistance

Level 4

Cut Resistance


Tear Resistance

Level 4

Puncture Resistance

Level 2

ISO Cut Resistance

Level E

Impact Resistance


Simply speaking, the higher the score that this product achieves, the better the product will be at resisting that hazard. Products will score between Level 0 and Level 4 for abrasion, tears and punctures, and if they weren’t tested for that hazard you will see N/A written instead of a number.

Cuts are a little different and, with the EN 388 standard rewritten in 2016, it means that gloves will either be tested to cut resistance or ISO cut resistance (sometimes called TDM cut resistance). Gloves tested to cut resistance will score between Level 0 and Level 5, and gloves tested to ISO cut resistance will achieve a score between Level A and Level F with the higher letter offering better cut protection.



Hot categories